What is college accreditation and why must I find a regionally accredited college?

The goal of higher education institution accreditation is to ensure that education provided meets acceptable levels of quality. Accreditation determines a school's eligibility for participation in federal (Title IV) and state financial aid programs. Proper accreditation is also important for the acceptance and transfers of college credit, and is a prerequisite for many graduate programs.

Connecticut recognizes credits and degrees from regionally accredited colleges and universities.

It is often difficult to find a school's accreditation when visiting their Web site or viewing their catalog. You can find out if the college or university you are interested in is regionally accredited by visiting the regional accrediting board Web site for their area and looking up the institution name, or by contacting your regional Education Advisor. For more information about regional accreditation, go to www.chea.org.

What are the regional accrediting agencies?

There are seven geographic regions of the United States with an agency that accredits college and university higher education programs:

Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges Western Association of Schools and Colleges
Higher Learning Commission
Middle States Commission on Higher Education
New England Commission of Higher Education
Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
WASC Senior College and University Commission